Dokumentieren von Reuse-Prozessen für das Circular Construction

With this project, we want to advance consumer education about building with secondary materials, make knowledge simple, understandable and accessible, and thus increase the acceptance of reuse in construction.

FUNDER:

IKEA Stiftung

PARTNER

Superuse Studios

ZEITRAUM

März - September 2021

Die Herausforderung

Gebäude haben einen maßgeblichen Einfluss auf Umwelt, Klima und Lebensqualität. Ein Drittel des globalen Ressourcenverbrauchs sowie fast die Hälfte des Energieaufkommen entfallen auf das Bauwesen. In Deutschland verschlingt der Sektor mehr als 50 Prozent der jährlich zur Verfügung stehenden mineralischen Ressourcen, sogar 90 Prozent aus der inländischen Gewinnung. Bisher wird nachhaltiges Bauen vor allem mit dem Verwenden von natürlichen, ressourcen-schonenden oder nachwachsenden Baustoffen gleichgesetzt.

Unser Ansatz

Circular Berlin hat sich mit unterschiedlichen Partnern zusammengetan, um das Potenzial der Verwendung von Sekundärmaterialien für die Konstruktion von Gebäuden aufzuzeigen. Das Projekt konzentriert sich vor allem auf das Verständnis der Prozesse hinter dieser innovativen Methode des Bauens. Zum Beispiel wie man Sekundärmaterialien beschafft und in die Planung von Gebäuden integriert. Eine der großen Herausforderungen für alle am Bau Beteiligten besteht im noch fehlenden Wissen über die Besonderheiten der Zirkularität und ihre Unterschiede zu anderen nachhaltigen Ansätzen im Bauwesen. Außerdem gibt es wenige Referenzbeispiele womit man bei der Projektrealisierung mit solchen Materialien beginnt. Unser Team wird Ansätze und etablierte Strategien verschiedener Träger:innen, Architekturbüros und Unternehmen dokumentieren, visuell darstellen und erklären.

Das Ergebnis

Die Ergebnisse werden in Form einer Prozessbeschreibung dokumentiert, so dass jeder Beteiligte in der Wertschöpfungskette des Bauwesens sie nachvollziehen und mit den Sekundärmaterialien die Realisierung des Projekts beginnen kann.

Die aufbereiteten Inhalte werden dann Teil einer Ausstellung und einer weiteren, breiteren Verbreitung.

Weitere Schritte

Als nächste Schritte wollen wir das Glossar für die Kreislaufwirtschaft im Bauwesen erweitern, damit es zu den Standardarbeitsdefinitionen in der Branche wird.

Darüber hinaus wollen wir weitere Prozesse, die für die Kreislaufwirtschaft im Bauwesen relevant sind, dokumentieren und dieses Wissen für verschiedene Akteure in der Branche zugänglich machen.

Kontaktperson

1

Dina Padalkina

Gründerin, Städte und Bauen

Email | LinkedIn

Julius Schäufele

Julius Schäufele

Built Environment team: circular construction processes

Email | LinkedIn

Documenting Reuse processes for the circular construction

With this project, we want to advance consumer education about building with secondary materials, make knowledge simple, understandable and accessible, and thus increase the acceptance of reuse in construction.

PARTNERS

Superuse Studios

DATE

March-September 2021

The challenge

Buildings have a significant impact on the environment, climate and quality of life. One third of global resource consumption and almost half of energy consumption is accounted for by the building sector. In Germany, the sector devours more than 50 percent of the mineral resources available annually, even 90 percent from domestic extraction. Until now, sustainable building has been equated primarily with the use of natural, resource-conserving or renewable building materials.

Our approach

Circular Berlin has teamed up with different partners to demonstrate the potential of using secondary materials for the construction of buildings. The project focuses mainly on understanding the processes behind this innovative method of construction. For example, how to source secondary materials and integrate them into the design of buildings. One of the major challenges for all those involved in construction is the lacking knowledge about the specifics of circularity and how it differs from other sustainable approaches in construction. Furthermore, there are few reference examples of what to start with when implementing projects with such materials. Our team will document, visually represent and explain approaches and established strategies of different sponsors, architectural offices and companies.

The outcomes

The results will be documented in the form of process description, so that every stakeholder in the construction value chain can follow it and start the realisation of the project with the secondary materials.

The prepared content will then become part of an exhibition and further broader dissemination.

Further steps

For the next steps we want to expand the glossary for the circular economy in construction so that it becomes the standard working definition in the industry.

Furthermore, we will aim to document other processes relevant for the circular economy in construction and make this knowledge accessible for diverse actors in the sector.

Project contact person

1

Dina Padalkina

Founder & CEO, City & Built Environment Lead

Email | LinkedIn

Julius Schäufele

Julius Schäufele

Built Environment team: circular construction processes

Email | LinkedIn